UNB and CCNB partner to extend the reach of the FASD support program

7 juin 2022

June 7, 2021 - The University of New Brunswick College of Extended Learning (UNB CEL) is teaming up with the Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick (CCNB) to deliver the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Certificate of Advanced Studies Program to learners across the nation and internationally.

According to the Canada FASD Research Network, FASD impacts over 1.5 million people, that’s more than autism spectrum disorder, cerebral palsy, and down syndrome combined.

There is a critical shortage of skilled workers to meet the growing demand for FASD diagnosis, intervention, and support.

"We are partnering with CCNB to expand the reach of this much-needed program," says Ian Allen, executive director at UNB CEL. "Through CCNB's connections with other community colleges and organizations, this partnership will help to address the labour shortage and, in turn, enhance support for individuals and families affected by FASD."

Developed by UNB and offered since 2017, the FASD Certificate of Advanced Studies program gives participants essential skills to apply in various roles and support sectors.

Family members and professionals who work with individuals affected by FASD, such as social workers, probation officers, teachers, teaching assistants, those working in healthcare or law will benefit from the program.

Participants will develop a deep understanding of FASD and learn skills to establish and maintain effective communication with clients and their families. Topics covered include advocacy, community resources, case planning, and crisis intervention.

"CCNB is proud to be partnering with UNB to offer this program. The FASD Certificate of Advaced Studies program meets a growing need in the field of health and community services, as more and more people with FASD are diagnosed,” says Julie Cyr, Dean of Health and Community Services at CCNB.  “The program will enable professionals to learn how to better serve people affected by this condition. We’re pleased that this program is also planned to be offered in French in the future, benefiting all New Brunswickers.

Starting October 17, the online program runs for 20 weeks and includes online theory and 10 hours of online workshops. Financial assistance may be available to qualified applicants.

For more information, visit go.unb.ca/fasd, email customerservice@unb.ca, or call toll free 1-888-259-4222 option 1.

-30-

 

Media requests

Belinda Elliott-Bielecki, director of marketing and communications, UNBCEL, 506-385-9893 or belinda@unb.ca

Jean-Marc Doiron, communications agent, CCNB, 506-377-2569 or jean-marc.doiron@ccnb.ca

UNB et le CCNB s’associent pour élargir la portée d’un programme sur les troubles causés par l’alcoolisation fœtale

7 juin 2022

BATHURST, le 7 juin 2022 – Le College of Extended Learning de la University of New Brunswick s’associe au CCNB pour offrir le programme Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) à des apprenants de partout au pays et à l'étranger.

L'ensemble des troubles causés par l'alcoolisation fœtale (ETCAF) touche plus de 1,5 million de personnes au Canada, selon le Canada FASD Network. C’est plus que tous les cas des troubles du spectre de l’autisme, l'infirmité motrice cérébrale et le syndrome de Down.

Il y a une grave pénurie de travailleurs qualifiés pour répondre à la demande croissante de diagnostic, d'intervention et de soutien en matière d'ETCAF.

« Nous nous associons au CCNB pour étendre la portée de ce programme indispensable, a affirmé Ian Allen, directeur général du College of Extended Learning de UNB. Grâce aux liens du CCNB avec d'autres collèges communautaires et organisations, ce partenariat permettra de remédier à la pénurie de main-d'œuvre et, par ricochet, d'améliorer le soutien aux personnes et aux familles touchées par l'ETCAF. »

Élaboré par UNB et offert depuis 2017, le programme offre aux participants des compétences essentielles à appliquer dans divers rôles et secteurs de soutien.

Les membres de la famille et les professionnels qui travaillent avec des personnes touchées par l'ETCAF, comme les travailleurs sociaux, les agents de probation, les enseignants, les aides-enseignants ainsi que ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine de la santé ou du droit, bénéficieront du programme.

Les participants acquerront une compréhension approfondie de l'ETCAF et acquerront les compétences nécessaires pour établir et maintenir une communication efficace avec les clients et leurs familles. Les sujets abordés comprennent la défense des intérêts, les ressources communautaires, la planification des cas et l'intervention en cas de crise.  

« Le CCNB est fier de s'associer à UNB pour offrir ce programme. Il répond à un besoin croissant dans le domaine de la santé et des services communautaires, car de plus en plus de personnes sont atteintes de l'ETCAF, a indiqué Julie Cyr, doyenne de la santé et des services communautaires au CCNB. Le programme permettra aux professionnels d'apprendre comment mieux servir les personnes touchées par cette condition. Nous sommes heureux qu’il y ait des plans visant à offrir éventuellement ce programme en français, ce qui profitera à l'ensemble des Néo-Brunswickoises et Néo-Brunswickois. »

Débutant le 17 octobre, ce programme en ligne de 20 semaines comprend de la théorie et 10 heures d'ateliers, également en ligne. De l’aide financière peut être disponible pour les candidates et les candidats qualifiés.

Pour plus de détails, visitez le site go.unb.ca/fasd ou envoyez un courriel à customerservice@unb.ca ou composez le 1-888-259-4222 (option 1).

-30- 

Infos et demandes d’entrevues :

Jean-Marc Doiron, conseiller en communications, CCNB, 506-377-2569 ou jean-marc.doiron@ccnb.ca 

Belinda Elliott-Bielecki, directrice des communications et du marketing, UNBCEL, 506-385-9893 ou belinda@unb.ca